About the Johann-Hinrich-Fehrs School

Our schoolyard with children playing

About us

The Johann-Hinrich-Fehrs-School is a primary school with a dedicated team of teachers. The school day is supported by educational specialists who are available for the daily care hours. The students learn in several class groups and benefit from a diverse range of school activities.

After class, children can participate in homework supervision and numerous working groups. In addition, there is the possibility to have breakfast before school starts and a balanced, healthy lunch in the cafeteria after class.

For working parents, the school offers a reliable all-day program on all school days. In addition, families have access to a holiday program during school holidays.

Stadtbild Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts

History

  • 1898 – Johann-Hinrich-Fehrs-School founded as a “Combined Boys’ and Girls’ School”
  • 1952 – Founding of the parents’ association
  • 1990 – Introduction of the “long-term class” (class for children who are not up to the requirements of a 1st grade)
  • 1994 – Inauguration of the attic conversion
    Founding of the “Friends of JHF-Schule e. V.” association
  • 1995 – Establishment of the “Hallig”
  • 1998 – Establishment of the “Schülernest”
    Student care in the morning at the school
  • 2004 – OGS “Schülernest”
Altes Foto von Johann-Hinrich-Fehrs

The namesake

Johann Hinrich Fehrs was an important narrator of the Low German language in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Born in Mühlenbarbek near Kellinghusen, he worked for many years as a teacher and shaped school and cultural life, especially in Itzehoe. His Low German works found great recognition and made him known far beyond the region.